Creekwater Journal (1973), University of Queensland Press

Grass Script (1978), Angus and Robertson

The Skylight (1983), Angus and Robertson

Selected Poems (1963 – 1983), Angus and Robertson

The Younger Australian Poets (1983), with Geoffrey Lehmann, an anthology, Hale and Iremonger

Selected Poems (1985), Angus and Robertson

Piano (1988), Angus and Robertson

Selected Poems (1990), Angus and Robertson

Australian Poetry in the Twentieth Century (1991), an anthology, with Geoffrey Lehmann, William Heinemann Australia

Selected Poems of Shaw Neilson (1993), Angus and Robertson 

Certain Things (1993), William Heinemann Australia

New and Selected Poems (1995), William Heinemann Australia

Lineations (1996), Duffy and Snellgrove

New Selected Poems (1998), Duffy and Snellgrove

Lineations (1998), selected poems, Arc Publishing (UK)

Grass Script: Selected Earlier Poems (2001), Carcanet (UK)

Afterimages (2002), Duffy and Snellgrove

Nameless Earth (2006), Carcanet (UK)

The Land I Came Through Last (2008), memoir, Giramondo

Australian Poetry Since 1788 (2011) an anthology with Geoffrey Lehmann, New South Press

Cumulus: Collected Poems (2012), John Leonard Press

Daylight Saving: a Selection of Poems (2013), George Braziller (USA)

Coast Road (2014), Black Inc.